Nourishing NutritionNutritional therapy and complementary medicine professional associations and training

British Association for Applied Nutrition and Nutritional Therapy (BANT) www.bant.org.uk  Check your practitioner is a member.

The Complementary and Natural Healthcare Council: www.cnhc.org.uk. Sponsored by the Dept of Health. Registers complementary healthcare practitioners who are considered fit to practice. Check your practitioner is on the register.

The Nutritional Therapy Council: www.nutritionaltherapycouncil.org.uk. Sets professional standards for nutritional therapists. Awards the Certificate of Competency to competent practitioners.

The British Complementary Medicine Association www.bcma.co.uk

The Complementary Medical Association (CMA) www.the-cma.org.uk

The Naturopathic Nutrition Association (NNA) http://www.nna-uk.com/

The College of Naturopathic Medicine (CNM) http://www.naturopathy-uk.com/  Run 3 year NTC accredited Naturopathic Nutrition courses


Recommended practitioners

Counselling in Gloucester. Andrea Hawkins.  www.andreahawkinscounselling.co.uk

Reflexology, reiki, homeopathy in Cheltenham. Elizabeth Chanter. www.room4healing.co.uk

Nutritional Therapy in London. Hayley Pedrick. www.thenutritioncoach.co.uk

Acupuncture including low cost clinic: Maggie Bavington.  http://www.acupuncture-shiatsu.co.uk/

Herbal Medicine/Naturopathy:  Debbie Cotton. www.debbiecotton.com

Osteopathy: John Mallinder. http://www.osteopathylondon.co.uk/; Elaine Elkington. http://www.osteowellbeing.com/


Corporate nutrition and nutritional based wellbeing courses

The Nutrition Coach www.thenutritioncoach.co.uk/nutrition-clinic/nutrition-coach-courses.htm


Nutrition and natural health information and resources

Websites

Abel and Cole. Organic vegeable delivery.  www.abelandcole.co.uk/veg-boxes

Dr Mercola. Natural health information and articles  www.mercola.com

Eighth Day Cafe. Vegetarian and vegan recipes. http://www.eighth-day.co.uk/recipes.htm

Food Standards Agency (FSA). For the latest government recommendations. www.foodstandards.gov.uk

Glycaemic Index Foundation. Useful information on low GI diets including database of foods. http://www.glycemicindex.com/

Nutritionist Resource.  List of local nationwide nutritional therapists. http://www.nutritionist-resource.org.uk/

Nutri-People. Information on conditions and nutrients and practitioner directory.  www.nutripeople.co.uk

The World’s healthiest foods. Sign up for daily healthy recipe ideas. www.whfoods.org

Vegan Society. http://www.vegansociety.com/

Vegetarian Society www.vegsoc.org/sslpage.aspx

Whole Foods Market. Good receipes.  http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipes/

Complementary Healthcare Information Service – UK.  http://www.chisuk.org.uk/

 

Books

Cooking Without by Barbara Cousins. For recipes for various food intolerances.

Red Velvet Chocolate Heartache by Harry Eastwood. For healthy cake recipes including lots of hidden vegetables.

The Holford Low GL Diet Made Easy by Patrick Holford. Good resource on how to follow a low GL diet.


Fertility advice and support

Websites

Foresight: The Association For Promotion Of Preconceptual Care www.foresight-preconception.org.uk

Marilyn Glenville: The Natural Health Website for Women. http://www.marilynglenville.com/

Books

Natural Fertility: The Complete Guide to Avoiding or Achieving Conception by Francesca Naish

Zita West’s Complete Guide to Getting Pregnant by Zita West


Breast feeding, weaning and baby and toddler health

Websites

Annabel Karmel. Information on weaning including recipes.  http://www.annabelkarmel.com/

La Leche League. Information and free advice on breastfeeding. http://www.laleche.org.uk/

Books

Baby-Led Weaning: Helping your baby to love food by Gill Rapley & Tracey Murket

What Should I Feed my Baby? by Suzannah Olivier

Annabel Karmel’s New and Complete Baby and Toddler Meal Planner by Annabel Karmel


Organic skin, body, hair care, make-up and baby skin care

Neal’s Yard Remedies  https://uk.nyrorganic.com/shop/nourishingbynature


Health organisations

Asthma UK www.asthma.org.uk

British Heart Foundation www.bhf.org.uk

Centre for Stress Management- www.managingstress.com

Coeliac Society www.coeliac.org.uk

Depression www.depressionalliance.org

Diabetes www.diabetes.org.uk

Lactose intolerance www.lactose.co.uk

Menopause www.menopause.com

National Association for Colitis and Crohn’s Disease (NACC) www.nacc.org.uk

National Eczema Society www.eczema.org

National Osteoporosis Society www.nos.org.uk

Quit Smoking Community https://quitsmokingcommunity.org/

The IBS Network www.thegutrust.org

The ME Association www.meassociation.org.uk

The Migraine Action Association www.migraine.org.uk

UK National Eczema Association www.eczema.org

Wheat Intolerance www.wheatintolerance.co.uk


 

Other

BestHost – web hosting and web design. http://www.besthost.co.uk/